The Musicians’ Company is governed by Members of the Court and Company Officers whose purpose is to promote and protect the mission and core values of the organisation.

The day-to-day running of the Musicians’ Company is conducted by the Clerk, Hugh Lloyd, and the Deputy Clerk, Amanda Ratcliffe, who also manages the Company’s Awards.


Alderman Sir Roger Gifford

Senior Warden
Lady Brewer OBE (Tessa)

Junior Warden
Michael Lewin

Honorary Treasurer
Gavin Barrett

Immediate Pastmaster
Andrew Morris

Dr Andreas Prindl CBE
Leslie East OBE
Petronella Burnett-Brown
Maurice Summerfield
Paul Campion
The Rt Hon The Lord Mayor Alderman Dr Andrew Parmley
Professor John Morehen
Sir Anthony Cleaver
Kathleen Duncan OBE

Court Assistants
David Cresswell
Christopher Lawrence
Alistair Telfer
Stephen Barter
Jeff Kelly
Alun Hughes
Adrian Mumford
John Nichols
Catherine McGuinness
The Rt Revd Graeme Knowles CVO

Honorary Assistants
John Morley
Richard Crewdson
Jeffrey Lockett MBE
Henry Willis
John Iles
Adrian Davis
Jan Lowy
Francis Carnwath CBE
Malcolm Troup
Sir Alan Traill GBE QSO
David Hill
Gavin Barrett
Nigel Tully
Jonathan Rennert
John Rubinstein
Peter Fowler


Michael Hockney MBE
Richard Lyne
John McCuin
Margaret Steinitz

Hon Almoner
The Rt Revd Graeme Knowles CVO

Master’s Chaplain
The Reverend Canon Mark Williams

Honorary Freemen
HRH The Prince Philip Duke of Edinburgh KG KT OM
HRH The Prince of Wales KG KT GCB OM
HRH The Duchess of Kent GVCO
Sir Harrison Birtwistle CH
Dame Cleo Laine DBE
Dame Janet Baker CH DBE
Dame Gillian Weir DBE

Honorary Treasurer Emeritus
Maurice Hart